Re-use of online resources

As I don’t inhabit the world of HE I tend not to worry too much about copyright issues which affect my resources, which are mainly the resources I use in my teaching. I suppose I should see my blog as a resource as well.

Quite simply, I would be happy (flattered, even) if someone reused something I published (is that the right verb?) as an OER. The Creative Commons principle where I can decide what

rights to give other people and where my work is always acknowledged seems fair to me.

Image

4 comments

  1. ….and it only took me about 2 hours to work out how to copy the badge into a post. I’m still trying to get it to appear on my OU blog – where my very fetching photo also no longer appears.

  2. The problem as I see it is that Creative Commons doesn’t distinguish between “OER” and “any other use”.

    If I put a photo in a lesson resource pack, and that photo is later used to advertise chewing gum, smoking or even a radical right-wing militant political movement, I don’t think I’d be happy.

    CC needs to be refined to make a few more distinctions, in my opinion….


Leave a Reply

